art left art center art right

homeAbout the ShowhistoryMarshall AwardContact UsMemberssuppot the showEntry InforMeal infoPurchase OnlineMaps and directionsHotelsResultsPhotosLinks



























About the Bryn Mawr Hound Show

The first Bryn Mawr Hound Show was held in 1914, making it one of the oldest hound shows in the country.  Currently, the show typically draws 35 to 45 exhibiting packs, showing more than 500 hounds in 6 rings: English Foxhounds, American Foxhounds, Crossbred Foxhounds, Penn-Marydel Foxhounds, Beagles and Bassets. In 2012, we introduced an exciting new Best in Show class, where the Champion Beagle, Basset, and Foxhound compete for this overall title.

The show is held on the grounds of the Radnor Hunt Club, 826 Providence Road, Malvern PA, 19355.  The 2018 Show will be held on Saturday, June 2.

The 2018 Bryn Mawr Hound Show Judges:

English Foxhounds
Mr. Terrell E. Paine, MFH
Santa Fe West Hills Hunt
Temecula, CA

Penn-Marydel Foxhounds
Mr. Patrick Anthony Leahy, MFH
Massbach Hounds & Fox River Valley Hunt
Elizabeth, IL

Cross-Bred Foxhounds
Mr. Irvin L. Crawford II, MFH
Potomac Hunt
Boyds, MD

American Foxhounds
Mrs. Marion Thorne, MFH
Genesee Valley Hunt
Geneseo, NY

Foxhound Champion
Mr. C. Martin Wood, MFH
Live Oak Hounds, Monticello FL

Mrs. Daphne F. Wood, MFH
Live Oak Hounds
Monticello, FL

Mr George Thomas, Ex-MFH
Mrs. Jeanie Thomas, Ex-MFH, MB
Why Worry Beagles, Aiken, SC

Best in Show
Mr. C. Martin Wood, MFH
Live Oak Hounds, Monticello FL

Junior Handler Classes
Sheila Jackson Brown, MFH
James Maza, MFH

The Julian M. Marshall Award

A higlight of each year's show is the presentation of the Julian M. Marshall award.   A living individual is selected for this annual honor based upon his or her lifetime contribution to hunting and hounds.  Mr. Marshall served as President of the Bryn Mawr Hound Show Association from 1983 though 1987, and as Honorary President from 1988 through 1999.  After his death, his family inaugurated the award, which is presented at the show by a Marshall family member. We are pleased to announce that the 2018 recipients are Irvin L. and Victoria W. Crawford, Jt-MFHs, Potomac Hunt. Please note that the award will be presented at the Friday evening opening dinner.

Past recipients of the award have been:

2001 - John H. Richards, Jr.,  ex-MFH
2002 - George S. Hundt, ex-MFH
2003 - Benjamin H. Hardaway, III, MFH
2004 - Joseph B. Wiley, Jr., MBH
2005 - Nancy Penn Smith Hannum, ex-MFH
2006 - Hank Woolman, ex-MFH
2007 - Russell Clark, Honorary MFH
2008 - Robert H. Crompton, III, MFH
2009 - F. H. (Terry) Griffin, III, MFH
2010 - Nigel Peel, MFH
2011 - John J. (Jake) Carle, ex-MFH
2012 - Sherman P. Haight, ex-MFH
2013 - Betsy Park, MB, MH
2014 - Mr. & Mrs. C. Martin Wood, III, MFHs
2015 - Mandy & Billy Bobbitt, MBs
2016 - Captain Ian W. Farquhar, LVO,MFH
2017 - Mrs. Peyton S. “Jeep” Cochran, MBH


Executive Committee
L.Stockton Illoway, MB, President
Anson W. H. Taylor, III, Show Chairman
Michael G. Tillson, III, MFH, First Vice President
Joseph J. McKenna, Jr., MBH, Second Vice President
Francis B. Jacobs, II, MB, Secretary
Edith Lamb Hollister, Treasurer
Nancy Danks, Entry Secretary
Mrs. Joseph J. McKenna, MBH, Membership Secretary
Mrs. Elizabeth R. Marshall, Entertainment Chair

Kris Bartosiak
Esther B. Gansky, MFH
Betsy M. Harris, MFH
Andrea P. Herr, ex-MFH
David W. Herr
A. Dunham Hollister
Alexandria A. Hundt
Roberta Kankus
Collin F. McNeil, MFH
James F. Scharnberg, MBH

Entertainment Committee
Mrs. Elizabeth R. Marshall, Chair

Mrs. George S. Hundt, Jr.
Ms. Virginia Jackson
Ms. Marcia L. Pontius
Mrs. A. Lee Reeser
Mrs. A. Lee Reeser, Jr.
Mrs. Charlotte Z. Smith
Mrs. Steven Somers

Committee on English Foxhounds
Robert E. Dougherty, ex-MFH

Mrs. Linda Jenkins Armbrust, MFH

Suzy A. Reingold, ex-MFH

Committee on American Foxhounds
Mrs. Irvin L. Crawford, II, MFH

John J. Carle, II, ex-MFH
Mrs. Craig Danks
Harold P. Wilmerding, MFH

Committee on Penn-Marydel Foxhounds
Betsy M. Harris, MFH

Nancy L. Dougherty, MFH
James E. Faber, ex-MFH
James Maza, MFH

Committee on Cross-Bred Foxhounds
C. Martin Wood III, MFH

Mason H. Lampton, MFH
Dr. Roger I. Scullin, MFH

J. Y. W. Martin, MFH

Committee on Beagles
L. Stockton Illoway, MB

Jessica Anderson, MB
Sherry Buttrick, MB
Elizabeth Park, MB

Committee on Bassets
Ms. Carter Amigh, MBH
Mrs. Peyton S. Cochran, MBH

Elizabeth Park, MBH

James F. Scharnberg, MBH